top of page
319352510_6160278234003434_4585094877474723595_n.jpg

Little of the World

Creation 2022
Greco-French/Franco-Greek Show

Poetry, music, animated images.

 

 

Two years after his death, the Greek composer Sophia Alexandrou, the Czech visual artist Vojtech Janyška and the Orleans director Éric Cénat are uniting their arts to celebrate this emblematic figure of Greek poetry. Winner of the European Prize for Literature, Kikí Dimoulá marked the poetic scene of her country. In his repertoire, Le peu du monde has a special place. Written in 1971, translated into several languages, this work brought him worldwide notoriety. She depicts the passage of time, daily life, loneliness in a bittersweet tone. His unique gaze still resonates today. To illustrate this timeless text, the 3 European artists intertwine, on stage, musical creation on the piano, spoken or sung French and Greek voices, and animated projections of watercolor paintings. A way for them to bring this work back to life and make it eternal.


 

artistic intentions

I inherited poetry… my grandfather, Lucien, was fond of it and I was the marvelous receptacle of his passion for words.   The poets surrounded me with their benevolence, brought me breath and meaning to existence, gave me another look at the world, entrusted me with their healing balms …I owe them a lot. To express my gratitude to them, from the creation of the Théâtre de l'Imprévu, I wanted to put them in majesty, that they are at the heart of my artistic approach...

 

Robert Desnos and Blaise Cendrars, bedside poets, were very often honored in our repertoire. We traveled a bit with Jacques Prévert, Boris Vian and Max Jacob, took the road to Chile with Pablo Neruda. Our fruitful collaboration with the author Patrice Delbourg has led us to bring out of the shadows a few distraught poets without pedigree or chapel (Ghérasim Luca, Roger Kowalski, Francis Giauque…).

Since 2017, I have been working in collaboration with the French Institutes of Greece (Athens, Patras, Larissa, Thessaloniki) in particular to train French teachers in reading aloud. I rely on the writings of my favorite poets in reference to the Francophonie. My exchanges with the teachers have however allowed me, over the course of my stays, to understand Greek poetry: that surrealist of Odysseas Elytis, that half unusual-half insolent of Nanos Valaoritis, that between shadow and light of Georges Séféris … all nourished by a history of the 20th century where political chaos and societal/economic crises followed one another, where the founding myths are never far away...

Poetry and music often go hand in hand in Greece. The Elytis/Theodororakis duo is the perfect illustration of this. So it's notno coincidence that Kiki's workDimoulabeenscopeto myawarenessover theremusicianSophieAlexandrou.Sophia andMehaveworked induopiano-voiceat the French Instituteof Athens by relying on a French-speaking poetry of yesterday and today. But to renew ourselves, we were looking for another voice… Sophia then mentioned her favorite poet whose recent death leaves her with a great void: Kikí Dimoulá. There too, a force of transgenerational poetry: here is a young composer of 20 with a promising future touched by the words of a middle-aged poet, always balanced above the void, inspired by the wear and tear of the time…

The poems of Kikí Dimoulá reached me in this unprecedented period of successive confinements where time seems frozen where travels are only interior... my feeling was immediate: There is a match between his proseand our livesupset: Thisfeedbackonself,takingawareness of our flaws and othersfragilities, the need for memories, the bankruptcy of materialism, this feeling of presence-absence in everyday life. Everything that characterizes Le peu du monde will be, to use the title of our show and one of its collections.

Saying a poem by Kikí Dimoulá out loud is an intimate upheaval! Appropriate his word as if it were mine; let myself be carried away by his humanity; trusting one's snippets of life, one's snapshots… These are great challenges for the interpreter that I am. I also know that I won't be alone since Kiki's words through my voice will be enveloped by Sophia's creative musical universe...

“At the neighbors someone is learning the piano.

A beginner, mentally I teach him

The musical value of what is repeated.

 

This music we neglect to listen to

  Just as we don't listen to bread

When it kneads our existence every day

  And we never pay attention

On the day when leaving she tells us

I don't know if I will come tomorrow.

We don't listen to it,we forget

  To say the slightest thank you

To this day come yet the next day

Despite all these reservations about us. »

Kiki Dimoula

Trust the words….

Trust the music that envelops these words...

It seems to me that we can bring another dimension to our creation…

 

Browsing through Kiki Dimoulá's work, I was struck by the recurring presence of photography:

“I talked a lot. To people,

To the lampposts. To the pictures. »

 

"Your hand is alone

In the square night of the photo. »

 

“No news from you.

Your photo, stationary.

change at least

From time to time the water of my photographs. »

 

Is it so surprising for a poet nourished by presence-absence? Isn't photography a frozen moment, the forever freezing of a snapshot of our lives? Therephotographyalso turns out to be acounterpoison tolack, a palliative for the loss… it can be part of a saving present.

"From the depths of a nostalgia

I get your news:

You have become a regular

From one of your old photographs

Prominent in the paper tension. »

 

I want the artistic universe of a plastic photographer to accompany us scenographically… It's almost obvious. I don't imagine it as a simple sensitive counterpoint to the imaginary…”

 


 

Éric Cénat, Director and actor

Photo : Vojtech Janyska

Kiki Dimoula.png

Who was Kiki Dimoula?

Kikí Dimoulá was the great voice, the major voice of Greek poetry. Born in 1931, she imposes her very personal universe, so detached from all hope after the visions of the luminous or fighting world of Ritsos, Elytis or Seferis.

Time, absence, death, nothingness are the constants of a very dark theme, but embodied in unexpected daily scenes, illuminated by an art of metaphor and an incredible verbal invention. Despite an often labyrinthine construction, a proliferation of ideas, a bold vocabulary juggling between the old, the chastened and the slang, this poetry remains incredibly close to the ordinary and even sometimes to the trivial. Thus this poetic thought, worked, manages to no longer belong exclusively to a particular cultural universe. Its emotional vibration gives it a universal resonance.

This poetry, in fact, resembles nothing known - except perhaps the Metaphysical Poets of the English seventeenth century. Like them, and like all lucid explorers of being, Kikí Dimoulá was not afraid to confess: “Yes, the impossible is enough for me”.

“Kikí Dimoulá's poems are unlike anything. Few poets give this impression of radical novelty. It begins with his subjects, so strange — strange by dint of not being so, most often minute, drawn from the most banal daily life. A landscape without history. The rain. The movement of waves on the shore. The wind in the leaves. A drop of blood. Indeed: each of his poems obsessively takes up the inventory of what is lost, what is no longer. The death of a beloved husband, which haunts the collections following this one, will only crystallize this obsession, make it even more vivid. Loss, death, nothingness, all perfectly true, but you could just as well say the opposite. Dimoulá's poems are teeming with life in their own way. A torrent of images irrigates them, most often unexpected, audacious, sometimes chasing each other at full speed. The humble reality they describe acquires an intense, almost agonizing life, seen through these magnifying glasses which, by metaphorizing it, metamorphose it”.

 

Michel Volkovitch, translator

Excerpts from some poems

love, noun,
very substantial,
singular name,
gender neither feminine nor masculine,
helpless kind.
In the plural
disarmed loves.

fear, noun,
singular at the beginning
then plural:
Fears.
Fears
in front of everything now.

Memory, proper name of sadness,
singular,
singular nothing else
and unchanging.
Memory, memory, memory.

night, noun,
female Gender,
singular.
Plural
the nights.
Nights now.

 

 

Little of the worldfollowed byI salute you Never      Editions Gallimard 2010

I'm not sleeping, I'm not sleeping,       _cc781905-9548bb18bad-35bad-3

I help the night to grow,

to widen, to erase the little lights, parasites.

 

I don't sleep, I don't sleep,

I exercise blacks it is excluded

I throw exercised it's excluded

that tear a few last stars

 

I don't sleep, I don't sleep,

I change sex, become midnight.

Where will you take me,  depression,

I'll meet you somewhere

since I took an oath of insomnia.

My doses of sleeping pills

dorment comme des anges           _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_   

and my brain that watches

rock them gently.

 

I don't sleep, I don't sleep,  

I help the night to grow,

I write slogans on the walls of dreams

down with the sunrises of chicken farms,

down with the shenanigans of hopes

and we will build you houses

and we will make you roads

and we'll bring you rain

and wind, and wind.

 

I don't sleep, I don't sleep,

i'm waiting for one last old background of darkness

to enter the soothsayer Calchas.

I'm going to kill him.

He threw me into quite a sacrifice  

for you to breathe.

But you, insomnia, you nestle   on every prophecy

taking your time.

 

 

Little of the worldfollowed byI salute you NeverGallimard Editions 2010

Direction and editing: Daniel Marino.

Si vous souhaitez voir la captation complète, cliquez ici

press side

An article by Bernard Cassat, published on December 15, 2022

An article by Benjamin Oppert, published on December 16, 2022

An interview conducted by Bernard Cassat

Artistic team

Poems -Kiki Dimoula

Translation -Michael Volkovich

Direction and interpretation -Eric Cenat

Artistic collaboration -Claire Vidoni

Composition and interpretation -Sophia Alexandrou

Scenography, Animated images -Vojtech Janyska

Piano, Voice -Sophia Alexandrou

Light design -Vincent Mongourdin

Supporters

The City of Orléans / Centre-Val-de-Loire

The National Stage of Orléans / Centre-Val-de-Loire

The Czech Center of Paris /Participates in the Franco-Czech cultural and artistic dialogue andpromotes Czech culture in France.

The B&M Theocharakis Foundation /Cultural center and museum whose mission, among other things, is to introduce children and young people to fine arts and music.

The Hellenic Community of Paris /Association that works to develop Franco-Hellenic friendship, and promotes Hellenic culture to the French and Greek public.

Residence calendar history

From December 05, 2022 to December 16, 2022at the National Stage,Orleans(45)

From November 27, 2022 to December 02, 2022at the Czech Cultural Center,Paris(75)

From March 14, 2022 to March 19, 2022 at the National Stage,Orleans(45)

From February 21, 2022 to February 26, 2022at the National Stage,Orleans(45)

Friday, December 16, 2022 CREATION-2 performances

There National scene,Orleans (45)

 

December 02, 2022inpreview-1 repfeeling

Czech Cultural CenterofParis(75)

Tour history

bottom of page

pluie fleur bandeau réseaux sociaux.jpg

Le Peu du Monde

Création 2022
Spectacle Gréco-Français/Franco-Grec

Poésie, musique, images animées.

 

 

Deux ans après sa disparition, la compositrice grecque Sophia Alexandrou, le plasticien tchèque Vojtech Janyška et le metteur en scène orléanais Éric Cénat unissent leurs arts pour célébrer cette figure emblématique de la poésie grecque. Lauréate du Prix européen de Littérature, Kikí Dimoulá a marqué la scène poétique de son pays. Dans son répertoire, Le peu du monde a une place toute particulière. Écrite en 1971, traduite en plusieurs langues, cette œuvre lui a apporté une notoriété mondiale. Elle y dépeint le temps qui passe, la vie quotidienne, la solitude dans un ton doux-amer. Son regard si singulier résonne encore aujourd’hui. Pour illustrer ce texte intemporel, les 3 artistes européens entremêlent, sur scène, création musicale au piano, voix françaises et grecques parlées ou chantées, et projections animées de peintures à l’aquarelle. Une manière pour eux de redonner vie à cette œuvre et de la rendre éternelle.


 

Des intention artistiques

J’ai reçu la poésie en héritage… mon grand-père, Lucien, en était férue et moi le réceptacle émerveillé de sa passion des mots.   Les poètes m’ont entouré de leur bienveillance, m’ont apporté un souffle et un sens à l’existence, m’ont transmis un autre regard au monde, m’ont confié leurs baumes cicatrisants…Je leur dois beaucoup. Pour exprimer ma reconnaissance à leur égard, dès la création du Théâtre de l’Imprévu, j’ai souhaité les mettre en majesté, qu’ils soient au cœur de ma démarche artistique…

 

Robert Desnos et Blaise Cendrars, poètes de chevet, ont été très souvent à l’honneur dans notre répertoire. Nous avons fait quelques bouts de chemin avec Jacques Prévert, Boris Vian et Max Jacob, pris la route du Chili avec Pablo Neruda. Notre collaboration fructueuse avec l’auteur Patrice Delbourg nous a conduits à sortir de l’ombre quelques poètes désemparés sans pedigree ni chapelle (Ghérasim Luca, Roger Kowalski, Francis Giauque…).

Depuis 2017, je travaille en collaboration avec les Instituts français de Grèce (Athènes, Patras, Larissa, Thessalonique) notamment pour former les professeur·es de français à la lecture à voix haute. Je m’appuie sur les écrits de mes poètes de prédilection en référence à la francophonie. Mes échanges avec les enseignant·es m’ont toutefois permis, au fil de mes séjours, d’appréhender la poésie grecque : celle surréaliste de Odysseas Elytis, celle mi insolite-mi insolente de Nanos Valaoritis, celle entre ombre et lumière de Georges Séféris… toutes nourries d’une histoire du XXème siècle où chaos politique et crises sociétales/économiques se sont succédés, où les mythes fondateurs ne sont jamais loin...

Poésie et musique vont souvent de pair en Grèce. Le duo Elytis/Theodororakis en est la parfaite illustration. Ce n’est donc pas le fruit du hasard si l’œuvre de Kiki Dimoulá a été portée à ma connaissance par la musicienne Sophia Alexandrou. Sophia et moi avons travaillé en duo piano-voix à l’Institut français d’Athènes en nous appuyant sur une poésie francophone d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Mais pour nous renouveler, nous étions en quête d’une autre voix… Sophia a alors évoqué sa poétesse favorite dont la disparition récente lui laisse un grand vide : Kikí Dimoulá. Force là aussi d’une poésie transgénérationnelle : voilà donc une jeune compositrice de 20 ans à l’avenir prometteur touchée par les mots d’une poétesse d’âge mûr, toujours en équilibre au-dessus du vide, inspirée par l’usure du temps…

Les poèmes de Kikí Dimoulá me sont parvenus dans cette période inédite des confinements successifs où le temps semble figé où les voyages ne sont plus qu'intérieurs... mon ressenti a été immédiat : Il y a adéquation entre sa prose et nos vies bouleversées : ce retour sur soi, la prise de conscience de nos failles et autres fragilités, le besoin de souvenirs, la faillite du matérialisme, cette sensation de présence-absence au quotidien. Tout ce qui caractérise Le peu du monde sera pour reprendre le titre de notre spectacle et d’un ses recueils.

Dire à haute voix un poème de Kikí Dimoulá est un bouleversement intime ! M’approprier sa parole comme si elle était mienne ; me laisser porter par son humanité ; faire confiance à ses bribes de vie, ses instantanés… Voilà de beaux défis pour l’interprète que je suis. Je sais aussi que je ne serai pas seul puisque les mots de Kiki à travers ma voix seront enveloppés par l’univers musical si créatif de Sophia…

« Chez les voisins quelqu’un apprend le piano.

Un débutant, mentalement je lui enseigne

La valeur musicale de ce qui est répété.

 

Cette musique on néglige son écoute

 De même qu’on n’écoute pas le pain

Quand il pétrit notre existence tous les jours

 Et qu’on ne prête jamais attention

A la journée lorsqu’en partant elle nous dit

Je ne sais pas si je viendrai demain.

On ne l’écoute pas, on oublie

 De dire le moindre merci

A cette journée venue pourtant le lendemain

Malgré toutes ces réserves à notre égard. »

Kikí Dimoulá

Faire confiance aux mots….

Faire confiance à la musique qui enveloppe ces mots…

Il me semble que nous pouvons apporter une autre dimension à notre création…

 

En parcourant l’œuvre de Kiki Dimoulá, j’ai été frappé par la présence récurrente de la photographie :

« J’ai beaucoup parlé. Aux gens,

Aux lampadaires. Aux photos. »

 

« Ta main est seule

Dans la nuit carrée de la photo. »

 

« Pas de nouvelles de toi.

Ta photo, stationnaire.

Change au moins

De temps en temps l’eau de mes photographies. »

 

Est-ce si étonnant pour une poétesse nourrie de présence-absence ? La photographie n’est-elle pas un moment figé, le gel à jamais d’un instantané de nos vies ? La photographie s’avère aussi être un contrepoison au manque, un palliatif à la perte… elle peut s’inscrire dans un présent salvateur.

« Depuis le fin fond d’une nostalgie

Je reçois de tes nouvelles :

Te voilà devenu l’habitué

D’une de tes vieilles photographies

Bien en vue dans la tension du papier. »

 

J’ai envie que l’univers artistique d’un photographe plasticien nous accompagne scénographiquement… C’est presque une évidence. Je ne l’imagine pas comme un simple contrepoint sensible à l’imaginaire… »

 


 

Éric Cénat, Metteur en scène et comédien

Kiki Dimoula.png

Qui était Kiki Dimoula ?

Kikí Dimoulá était la grande voix, la voix majeure de la poésie grecque. Née en 1931, elle impose son univers si personnel, si détaché de toute espérance après les visions du monde lumineux ou combattant de Ritsos, Elytis ou Séféris.

Le temps, l'absence, la mort, le néant sont les constantes d'une thématique très noire, mais incarnées dans des scènes quotidiennes inattendues, éclairées par un art de la métaphore et une invention verbale inouïs. Malgré une construction souvent labyrinthique, un foisonnement d'idées, un vocabulaire audacieux jonglant entre l'ancien, le châtié et l'argotique, cette poésie reste incroyablement proche de l'ordinaire et même parfois du trivial. Ainsi cette pensée poétique, travaillée, parvient à ne plus appartenir exclusivement à un univers culturel particulier. Sa vibration émotionnelle lui donne une résonance universelle.

Cette poésie, en fait, ne ressemble à rien de connu - sinon peut-être aux Metaphysical Poets du XVIIe siècle anglais. Comme eux, et comme tous les explorateur·trices lucides de l'être, Kikí Dimoulá ne craignait pas d'avouer : « Oui l'impossible me suffit ».

« Les poèmes de Kikí Dimoulá ne ressemblent à rien. Peu de poètes donnent cette impression de nouveauté radicale. Cela commence par ses sujets, si étranges — étranges à force de ne pas l'être, infimes le plus souvent, tirés du quotidien le plus banal. Un paysage sans histoire. La pluie. Le mouvement des vagues sur le rivage. Le vent dans les feuilles. Une goutte de sang. En effet : chacun de ses poèmes reprend à neuf, obsessionnellement, l'inventaire de ce qui est perdu, de ce qui n'est plus. La mort d'un mari bien-aimé, qui hante les recueils suivant celui-ci, ne fera que cristalliser cette obsession, la rendre plus vive encore. La perte, la mort, le néant, tout cela parfaitement vrai, mais on pourrait tout aussi bien dire le contraire. Les poèmes de Dimoulá sont grouillants de vie à leur façon. Un torrent d'images les irrigue, le plus souvent inattendues, audacieuses, se chassant par moments l'une l'autre à toute allure. L'humble réalité qu'elles décrivent acquiert une vie intense, presque angoissante, vue à travers ces verres grossissants qui en la métaphorisant la métamorphosent ».

 

Michel Volkovitch, traducteur

Extraits de quelques poèmes

L'amour, substantif,
très substantiel,
nom singulier,
genre ni féminin ni masculin,
genre désarmé.
Au pluriel
les amours désarmé(e)s.

La peur, substantif,
singulier au début
puis pluriel :
les peurs.
Les peurs
devant tout désormais.

La mémoire, nom propre des tristesses,
singulier,
singulier rien d'autre
et invariable.
Mémoire, mémoire, mémoire.

La nuit, substantif,
genre féminin,
singulier.
Pluriel
les nuits.
Les nuits désormais.

 

 

Le Peu du monde suivi de Je te salue Jamais       Éditions Gallimard 2010

Je ne dors pas, je ne dors pas,        

j'aide la nuit à s'agrandir,

à s'élargir, à effacer les petites lumières, parasites.

 

Je ne dors pas, je ne dors pas,

J’exerce de noirs c’est exclu

Je lance des c’est exclu exercés

qui déchirent quelques dernières étoiles

 

Je ne dors pas, je ne dors pas,

je change de sexe, deviens minuit.

Où me mèneras-tu,  abattement,

je te retrouverai quelque part

puisque j'ai prêté serment d'insomnie.

Mes doses de somnifères

dorment comme des anges               

et mon cerveau qui veille

les berce tout doucement.

 

Je ne dors pas, je ne dors pas,  

j'aide la nuit à s'agrandir,

j'écris des slogans aux murs des rêves

à bas les levers du jour des élevages de poules,

à bas les magouilles des espérances

et on vous construira des maisons

et on vous fera des routes

et on vous apportera la pluie

et du vent, et du vent.

 

Je ne dors pas, je ne dors pas,

j'attends un dernier vieux fond d’obscurité

pour entrer chez le devin Calchas.

Je vais le tuer.

Il m'a plongée dans tout un sacrifice  

pour que tu respires.

Mais toi, insomnie, tu te niches  sur chaque prophétie

en prenant bien ton temps.

 

 

Le Peu du monde suivi de Je te salue Jamais Éditions Gallimard 2010

Calendrier de Résidences

Du 05 décembre 2022 au 16 décembre 2022 à la Scène nationale, Orléans (45)

Du 27 novembre 2022 au 02 décembre 2022 au Centre Culturel Tchèque, Paris (75)

Du 14 mars 2022 au 19 mars 2022 à la Scène nationale, Orléans (45)

Du 21 février 2022 au 26 février 2022 à la Scène nationale, Orléans (45)

Dates à venirs

Vendredi 02 décembre 2022 en avant-première au Centre Culturel Tchèque de Paris (75)

Vendredi 16 décembre 2022 CRÉATION à la Scène nationale, Orléans (45)

Vendredi 17 mars 2023 à la Fondation Theocharokis, Grèce

Samedi 01 avril 2023 à l'Institut français de Thessalonique, Grèce

Lundi 03 avril 2023 à l'Institut français d'Athènes, Grèce

Vendredi 28 avril 2023 au Théâtre de la Bohème de l'Est, République Tchèque

 

 

 

Equipe artistique

Poèmes - Kiki Dimoula

Traduction - Michel Volkovitch

Mise en scène et interprétation - Éric Cénat

Collaboration artistique - Claire Vidoni

Composition et interprétation - Sophia Alexandrou

Scénographie, Images animées - Vojtech Janyška

Piano,Voix - Sophia Alexandrou

Création lumières - Vincent Mongourdin

Soutiens

La Ville d'Orléans / Centre-Val-de-Loire

La Scène nationale d'Orléans / Centre-Val-de-Loire

Le Centre Tchèque de Paris / Participe au dialogue culturel et artistique franco-tchèque et promeut la culture tchèque en France.

La Fondation B&M Theocharakis / Centre culturel et musée qui a pour mission, entre autres, d'introduire les enfants et le jeune public aux beaux-arts et à la musique.

La Communauté Hellénique de Paris / Association qui œuvre au développement de l'amitié Franco-hellénique, et favorise la culture hellénique auprès du public français et grec.