top of page
Synopsis

You can not stop progress !

Verbal and singing fantasy

Texts by Raymond Devos, Francis Blanche, Pierre Dac, Alphonse Allais,
Félix Fénéon, Brigitte Fontaine... Songs by Boris Vian, Juliette, Gilles and Julien, Henri Salvador, Alain Souchon...

 

Raymond and Raymond enter the scene, face to face: briefcase, dark suits, like two timeless cousins of Dupont and Dupond. One hums, the other grumbles. They would like to talk about technological, scientific, social or even metaphysical progress… but very quickly their words get out of hand. Raymond and Raymond engage in an explosion of surreal and wacky puns.

 

And they sing! Stories of founders of wooden cobblestones, front-wheel drive, sarrusophones or blisters, waffle guns, smart cards, delicate dragonflies or electronic gravediggers...

François Rascal (the singer) plays the guitar and the guitalele… Éric Cénat (the grumbler) handles maracas and rattles of all kinds… what do you want…

You can not stop progress !

P_02-O.Marchant
IMG_8153
IMG_8155
IMG_8174
IMG_8184
IMG_8178
IMG_8159
IMG_8152
P_01-O.Marchant_edited
P_03-O-Marchant_edited
Photos
Informations

Production

 

Created in September 2008
at the Steam Mill in Olivet (45)
 
The show was played in particular
in the Center Region - Loire Valley,
in the Paris region,
in Paris at the Essaïon Theater for 2 months,
and in the Czech Republic,
for a total of74 performances

 

Artistic team

 

Design:Francois Rascal and Eric Cenat
 

Interpretation:Eric CenatAndFrancois Rascal

Staging:Jacques Dupont
Suits:Charlotte Villermet

Lights:Philippe Debray

 

Vidéo

Press extracts

 

A duo full of talent, with a skilfully chosen repertoire.

'A beautifully rehearsed team' - 'Both with their talent on stage, performed their repertoire which flowed flawlessly and was appreciated throughout the evening.'

A large and delighted audience

"The two actors have brilliantly explored a very current vision of surrealism".
"It was fun, full of humor, full of common sense and messages to be deciphered. They happily discussed smart cards, sustainable development, the biglotron... The evening (...) had a real success."

Raymond and Raymond: an explosive duo

"The very first show of the cultural season was sold out (...) This subtle verbal fantasy (...) was a real treat for the spectators."

A delicious, burlesque and humorous moment
The Théâtre de l'Imprévu performed at the remand center

"We are here to restore beauty, taste, self-esteem, to provide a key for preparing for the release. (...) In turn conquered, this public has granted the Orleans company a nice standing ovation. Real moment of sharing."

"Looking sinister, they hear us talk about scientific progress. Not frankly hilarious? On the contrary. Because suddenly everything goes wrong. Texts by Raymond Devos, Pierre Dac and songs by Juliette, Brigitte Fontaine, Alain Souchon or Boris Vian come (fortunately) interfere with their remarks. Performed by the excellent Éric Cénat and François Rascal, this "verbal and singing fantasy" cheerfully mixes absurdity and surrealism. With an invigorating freshness.(...) La République du Center

"This verbal and singing comedy knew how to keep all its promises in front of an audience who came to fill the room of the Dungeon. (...) progress and current events were the privileged targets of these two talented artists. By winning the unanimity of the public, this first show was a great success..." Le Courrier du Loiret

 

"An entertaining show (...) which is intended to be "a source of simple emotions, laughter, generosity, stage/room intimacy, in short of pleasure" (...) Two clownish characters named Raymond, real fraternal twins avatars of the famous tintinesque twinship, deliver an amusing duettist number that is a little offbeat with beautiful exercises in verbal velocity." Froggy's Delight

"Two of them bring almost a century of texts to life in a short format but with a staggering density and intensity. (...) Very funny, quite caustic, with a straight-cut staging." Culture Company

"In a sharp and relevant staging by Jacques Dupont, Éric Cénat and François Rascal, escaped from a painting by Magritte, know how to handle derision and burlesque, text and song, the piston and the guitar. Delicious !pariscope


"Progress has lead in the lineup. But there's joy in the air! We can't stop laughing." D.Dumas, theaters

 

L'Imprévu enchants the media library

"Some 170 spectators attended the complicit show by François Rascal and Éric Cénat. (...) This quirky cabaret show is, given the laughter raised, more than recommended for the "sustainable development" of zygomatics." The Republic of the Center

 

We don't stop progress, jubilant spectacle

"Extraordinarily ju-bi-la-toire! We can't stop progress, a new show by the Théâtre de l'Imprévu has been created, at the Moulin de la Vapeur in Olivet, which was sold out. Attention! Raymond and Raymond take the stage and already these characters are comical. On texts by Devos, our two Raymonds run, run and run again... Throughout the evening, there are cascades of words, whimsical and hilarious around the theme of progress, beautiful texts but also songs. The waves that cross Raymond, the "automobilesque" progress, "the combustion engine" to the tune of a "Sweet Song": it had to be done and it's gigantic. Rarely seen , a breath of fresh air, a pure and true moment of happiness." The Republic of the Center

bottom of page

On n'arrête pas le progrès !

Fantaisie verbale et chantante

Textes de Raymond Devos, Francis Blanche, Pierre Dac, Alphonse Allais,
Félix Fénéon, Brigitte Fontaine... Chansons de Boris Vian, Juliette, Gilles et Julien, Henri Salvador, Alain Souchon...

 

Raymond et Raymond entrent en scène, face à face : attaché-case, costumes sombres, tels deux cousins intemporels de Dupont et Dupond. L’un chantonne, l’autre bougonne. Ils voudraient parler du progrès technologique, scientifique, social voire métaphysique… mais très vite leurs propos dérapent. Raymond et Raymond se lancent dans une explosion de jeux de mots surréalistes et farfelus.

 

Et ils chantent ! Des histoires de fondeurs de pavés d’bois, de traction avant, de sarrussophone ou de vésicatoire, de pistolet à gauffres, de carte à puce, de libellules si délicates ou de fossoyeur électronique…

François Rascal (le chantonneur) joue de la guitare et de la guitalélé… Éric Cénat (le bougonneur) manie des maracas et hochets en tous genres… que voulez-vous…

On n’arrête pas le progrès !

P_02-O.Marchant
IMG_8153
IMG_8155
IMG_8174
IMG_8184
IMG_8178
IMG_8159
IMG_8152
P_01-O.Marchant_edited
P_03-O-Marchant_edited
 
 

Production

 

Création en septembre 2008
au Moulin de la Vapeur à Olivet (45)
 
Le spectacle a été joué notamment
en Région Centre - Val de Loire,
en Région Parisienne,
à Paris au Théâtre Essaïon durant 2 mois,
et en République Tchèque,
pour un total de 74 représentations

 

Équipe artistique

 

Conception : François Rascal et Éric Cénat
 

Interprétation : Éric Cénat et François Rascal

Mise en scène : Jacques Dupont
Costumes : Charlotte Villermet

Lumières : Philippe Debray

 

 

Extraits de presse

 

Un duo plein de talent, au répertoire habilement choisi.

"Une équipe magnifiquement rodée" - "Tous les deux avec leur talent sur le scène, ont interprété leur répertoire qui s'écoule sans faille et s'apprécie tout au long de la soirée."

Un public nombreux et ravi

"Les deux acteurs ont exploré avec brio une vision très actuelle du surréalisme".
"C'était plaisant, plein d'humour, plein de bon sens et de messages à décrypter. Ils ont joyeusement disserté sur la carte à puce, le développement durable, le biglotron... La soirée (...) a connu un vrai succès."

Raymond et Raymond : un duo explosif

"Le tout premier spectacle de la saison culturelle a fait salle comble (...) Cette fantaisie verbale subtile (...) a été un vrai régal pour les spectateurs."

Un moment délicieux, burlesque et humoristique
Le Théâtre de l'Imprévu s'est produit à la maison d'arrêt

"Nous sommes là pour redonner du beau, du goût, de l'estime de soi, pour apporter une clé servant à la préparation à la sortie. (...) À son tour conquis, ce public a accordé à la compagnie orléanaise une jolie standing ovation. Franc moment de partage."

"L'air sinistre, ils entendent nous parler du progrès scientifique. Pas franchement hilarant ? Au contraire. Car soudain tout dérape. Les textes de Raymond Devos, Pierre Dac et les chansons de Juliette, Brigitte Fontaine, Alain Souchon ou encore Boris Vian viennent (heureusement) parasiter leurs propos. Interprétée par les excellents Éric Cénat et François Rascal, cette "fantaisie verbale et chantante" mêle allègrement absurdité et surréalisme. D'une fraîcheur revigorante.(...) La République du Centre

"Cette comédie verbale et chantante a su tenir toutes ses promesses devant un public venu combler la salle du Donjon. (...) le progrès et l'actualité ont été les cibles privilégiées de ces deux artistes talentueux. En remportant l'unanimité du public, ce premier spectacle fut une très belle réussite..." Le Courrier du Loiret

 

"Un divertissant spectacle (...) qui se veut "source d'émotions simples, de rires, de générosité, d'intimité scène/salle, bref de plaisir" (...) Deux personnages clownesques prénommés Raymond, vrais faux jumeaux avatars de la fameuse gémellité tintinesque, délivrent un amusant numéro duettistes un peu décalés avec de beaux exercices de vélocité verbale." Froggy's Delight

"À deux, ils font revivre presque un siècle de textes dans un format court mais d'une densité et d'une intensité sidérantes. (...) Très drôle, assez caustique, avec une mise en scène tirée au cordeau." Culture Cie

"Dans une mise en scène aiguisé et pertinente de Jacques Dupont, Éric Cénat et François Rascal, échappés d'un tableau de Magritte, savent manier la dérision et le burlesque, le texte et la chanson, le piston et la guitare. C'est Délicieux ! Pariscope


"Le progrès a du plomb dans la gamme. Mais il y a de la joie dans l'air ! On n'arrête pas de rire." D.Dumas, théâtres

 

L'Imprévu enchante la médiathèque

"Quelques 170 spectateurs ont assisté, au spectacle complice de François Rascal et Éric Cénat. (...) Ce spectacle de cabaret décalé est, vu les rires soulevés, plus que recommandé pour le "développement durable" des zygomatiques." La République du Centre

 

On n'arrête pas le progrès, spectacle jubilatoire

"Extraordinairement ju-bi-la-toire! On n'arrête pas le progrès, nouveau spectacle du Théâtre de l'Imprévu a été créé, au Moulin de la Vapeur d'Olivet qui affichait complet. Attention! Raymond et Raymond entrent en scène et déjà ces personnages sont comiques. Sur des textes de Devos, nos deux Raymond courent, courent et courent encore... S'en suivent tout au long de la soirée des cascades de mots, fantaisistes et hilarantes autour du thème du progrès, de beaux textes mais aussi des chansons. Les ondes qui traversent Raymond, le progrès "automobilesque", "le moteur à explosion" sur l'air d'une "Chanson douce" : il fallait le faire et c'est géant. Du rarement vu, une bouffée d'oxygène, un pur et vrai moment de bonheur." La République du Centre

© 1986 - 2020 / Le Théâtre de l'Imprévu - Tous droits réservés - Licence d'entrepreneur de spectacle : 2-1050067

Compagnie portée par la Région Centre - Val de Loire, subventionnée par la Ville d'Orléans et par le Conseil Départemental du Loiret.

NOS PARTENAIRES